Photo series with macro lens

In order to get sharp detailed photos of the annual rings and thus a high level of measurement accuracy, the top of your instrument should be photographed with a macro lens. A series of overlapping photos on the lower bout captures all annual rings.

Maximum image quality and large depth of field

Set up your digital camera as follows:

  • highest image quality
  • maximum image size in JPG format
  • ISO set on 100
  • Aperture for large depth of field, depending on camera and lens approx. f/16

A ruler for calibration

In order to be able to calibrate the photos, it is important that a ruler is visible on the photos - you can find one here to print out. Use staples or scotch tape to attach the ruler to the top of your instrument on the under bout. The red line should be centered on the joint (see Photo 1).

Photo 1: Position of the ruler

Taking pictures at a 90° angle – please use a tripod

Position the camera and violin so that you can photograph each section at a 90° angle with the ruler visible at the bottom of the photograph (see photo 2). Start on the left at section A–A and work your way up to F–F for violin and viola, or L–L for cello. To prevent camera shake, please use a stable tripod.

Photo 2: Section A-A

Check and send via Wetransfer

Please check in 100% view on the screen whether all photos are in focus. Then please send us the photos via Wetransfer.

Fotoserie mit Makro

Um scharfe Detailaufnahmen der Jahresringe und damit eine hohe Messgenauigkeit zu erhalten, sollte die Decke mit einem Makro-Objektiv aufgenommen werden. Eine Serie überlappender Fotos am Unterbügel erfasst alle Jahresringe.

Maximale Bildqualität und große Tiefenschärfe

Stellen Sie Ihre Digitalkamera folgendermaßen ein:

  • höchste Bildqualität
  • maximale Bildgröße im JPG-Format
  • ISO auf 100
  • Blende für große Tiefenschärfe, je nach Kamera und Objektiv ca. f/16

Ein Lineal für die Kalibrierung

Damit wir die Fotos kalibrieren können, ist es wichtig, dass ein Lineal auf den Aufnahmen zu sehen ist – hier finden Sie eines zum Ausdrucken. Befestigen Sie das Lineal mit Klammern oder Tesafilm an der Decke im Unterbügelbereich. Die rote Linie sollte auf der Fuge in der Mitte liegen (siehe Foto 1).

Foto 1: Position des Lineals

Aufnahmen im 90°-Winkel – am besten mit Stativ

Positionieren Sie Kamera und Geige so, dass Sie die einzelnen Abschnitte im 90°-Winkel fotografieren können und das Lineal dabei unten auf der Aufnahme zu sehen ist (siehe Foto 2). Fangen Sie links bei Abschnitt A–A an und arbeiten Sie sich vor bis F–F für Geige und Bratsche bzw. bis L–L für Cello. Um ein Verwackeln zu verhindern, benutzen Sie bitte ein stabiles Stativ.

Foto 2: Abschnitt A-A

Prüfen und per Wetransfer versenden

Kontrollieren Sie bitte in 100-%-Ansicht am Bildschirm, ob alle Fotos überall scharf sind. Anschließend schicken Sie uns die Aufnahmen bitte mit Wetransfer.