Valuable in many ways

Our master workshop sees itself as the first address for exquisite violins, violas and cellos. With passion, much craftsmanship, know-how and musical expertise, we create new instruments. When repairing or restoring, we take special care to preserve the unique sound – the personality of the instrument – and to make damage as invisible as possible.

We offer you:

  • New making of fine violins, violas and cellos
  • Repair and restoration at the highest level
  • Sound adjustment and optimization
  • Bow repair, restoration and rehair
  • Expertise and dendrochronological report
  • Photography, documentation and condition report
  • Purchase and sale: large selection of violins, violas, cellos, bows and accessories
  • Violin, viola and cello rental

Master Service from the team

We are Arjan and Veronika Versteeg with Wiebke van der Wall and Dobrosława Patelka. All four of us have a distinguished education in violin making.

Arjan Versteeg
Veronika Versteeg
Wiebke van der Wall
Dobrosława Patelka

Arjan Versteeg – Master Violin Maker

Arjan, born in the Netherlands in 1973, has been playing violin since the age of six. He attended the violin-making school in Mittenwald and, after his journeyman's examination, worked for two years at the renowned Willem Bouman & Zn violin making workshop in The Hague. Already at this time he concentrated on restoration and Baroque reconstruction and found interest in dendrochronology.

In the following nine years he deepened his knowledge of the methods for the restoration of valuable string instruments with Peter Benedek in Munich and dealt very intensively with their dendrochronological dating.

In 2007 he successfully passed his Meister craftsman's examination in Mittenwald and Munich. He is a member of the Association of German Violin Makers and Bow makers (VDG) and, as an expert in dendrochronological dating, has contributed to the publication Antonio Stradivari by Jost Thöne and to a research paper on the Rücker instruments of the Musical Instrument Museum Brussels.

Veronika Versteeg – Violin Maker and Specialist for New Instruments

Veronika was born in Munich in 1974 and received cello lessons from the age of six. She trained as a violin maker at the violin making school in Mittenwald.

Since her journeyman's examination in 1999, she has specialized in the construction of new instruments. She has worked for Werner Hartwig and Peter Schlarb, where in both workshops she experienced important encouragement. Her violins and violas are played and appreciated by orchestral musicians and soloists at home and abroad.

Since 2011, Veronika and Arjan have been working together in their own workshop in Hohenschäftlarn near Munich. They regularly exhibit their instruments as part of the Munich Violin Days at the Stadtmuseum München. In their spare time, the two play in the orchestra and participate in much chamber music.

Wiebke van der Wall – Master Violin Maker

Wiebke has been working in our studio since the end of 2015. She supports us in all areas with her excellent violin making skills. She received her training in the workshop of Andrea Masurat in Lübeck, where she worked for a total of eight years. In 2018 she successfully passed her Meister craftsman's examination in Mittenwald.

Dobrosława Patelka – Master Violin Maker

Dobrosława joined our team in 2021. Previously, she graduated from the Music Academy in Poznan with her master's degree in violin making. As part of her final project, she dealt intensively with the late Cremonese school.

Wertvoll in vielerlei Hinsicht

Unsere Meisterwerkstatt versteht sich als erste Adresse für exquisite Geigen, Bratschen und Celli. Mit Leidenschaft, viel handwerklichem Know-how und musikalischem Sachverstand fertigen wir neue Instrumente. Bei Reparatur oder Restaurierung achten wir besonders darauf, den einzigartigen Klang – die Persönlichkeit des Instruments – zu bewahren und Schäden möglichst unsichtbar zu machen. 

Wir bieten Ihnen:

  • Neuanfertigung feiner Geigen, Bratschen und Celli
  • Reparatur und Restaurierung auf höchstem Niveau
  • Klangeinstellung und Optimierung 
  • Bogenreparatur und Behaarung
  • Expertise und dendrochronologisches Gutachten 
  • Fotografie, Dokumentation und Zustandsbericht
  • Ankauf und Verkauf: große Auswahl an Geigen, Bratschen, Celli, Bögen und Zubehör
  • Geigen-, Bratschen- und Celloverleih 

Meisterleistung im Team

Wir – das sind Arjan und Veronika Versteeg mit Wiebke van der Wall und Dobrosława Patelka. Alle vier können wir eine hervorragende Ausbildung im Geigenbau vorweisen.

Arjan Versteeg
Veronika Versteeg
Wiebke van der Wall
Dobrosława Patelka

Arjan Versteeg – Geigenbaumeister

Arjan, geboren 1973 in den Niederlanden, spielt seit seinem sechsten Lebensjahr Geige. Er besuchte die Geigenbauschule in Mittenwald und arbeitete nach seiner Gesellenprüfung zwei Jahre in der renommierten Den Haager Geigenbauwerkstatt Willem Bouman & Zn. Bereits in dieser Zeit konzentrierte er sich auf Restaurierung und Barockrückbauten und fand dabei Interesse an der Dendrochronologie. 

In den darauf folgenden neun Jahren vertiefte er bei Peter Benedek in München die Methoden zur Restaurierung wertvoller Streichinstrumente und beschäftigte sich sehr intensiv mit deren dendrochronologischer Datierung.

2007 legte er in Mittenwald und München erfolgreich seine Meisterprüfung ab. Er ist Mitglied im Verband Deutscher Geigenbauer und Bogenmacher (VDG) und hat als Experte für dendrochronologische Datierungen mitgearbeitet an der Publikation Antonio Stradivari von Jost Thöne und an einer Forschungsarbeit über Rücker-Instrumente des Musikinstrumentenmuseums Brüssel.

Veronika Versteeg – Geigenbauerin und Spezialistin für neue Instrumente

Veronika wurde 1974 in München geboren und erhielt ab ihrem sechsten Lebensjahr Cellounterricht. Ihre Ausbildung zur Geigenbauerin machte sie an der Geigenbauschule in Mittenwald.

Seit ihrer Gesellenprüfung im Jahr 1999 spezialisiert sie sich auf den Bau neuer Instrumente. Sie arbeitete bei Werner Hartwig und Peter Schlarb. Beide Werkstätten konnten ihr wichtige Impulse geben. Ihre Geigen und Bratschen werden von Orchestermusikern und Solisten im In- und Ausland gespielt und geschätzt.

Seit 2011 arbeiten Veronika und Arjan zusammen in der eigenen Werkstatt in Hohenschäftlarn bei München. Regelmäßig stellen sie ihre Instrumente im Rahmen der Münchner Geigentage im Stadtmuseum München aus. In ihrer Freizeit spielen die beiden im Orchester und machen viel Kammermusik.

Wiebke van der Wall – Geigenbaumeisterin

Seit Ende 2015 arbeitet Wiebke in unserem Atelier. Sie unterstützt uns in allen Bereichen mit ihren hervorragenden geigenbauerischen Fähigkeiten. Ihre Ausbildung erhielt sie in der Werkstatt von Andrea Masurat in Lübeck, wo sie insgesamt acht Jahre arbeitete. 2018 legte sie in Mittenwald erfolgreich ihre Meisterprüfung ab. 

Dobrosława Patelka – Master im Geigenbau

Dobrosława ist 2021 in unser Team gekommen. Zuvor absolvierte sie die Musik-Akademie in Posen mit ihrem Master-Abschluss im Geigenbau. Im Rahmen ihrer Abschlussarbeit beschäftigte sie sich intensiv mit der späten Cremoneser Schule.